Day 20 – Valenca to Mos

 Petra and I began early again while it was still cool.  We approached the bridge dividing Portugal from Spain with a little sadness  and anticipation about what these next stages would be like in a different country.  We saw a great sign inviting us in for one more cerveza, but at 7 a.m. it was still a little early.

 And so we entered Spain, just like that.  And not a coffee shop could we find as we wandered thru the ancient streets of Tui.

Finally as we walked along a quiet, wide tree lined road, Petra who speaks some fine Spanish spied an older gentleman and asked him about any nearby coffee shops. He was very happy to chat with her and shared that every day he walked on the Camino talking and helping pilgrims. He led us to the end of the street and pointed down the road 100 meters or so to a coffee shop that was open and had a good reputation for home cooked food.  Bonus!  And thank you very much kind Spanish gentleman. So instead of walking the next 2 hours hungry, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast of scrambled eggs, bread and really good coffee. Even tea drinking Petra enjoyed the coffee.

We continued walking  and it was beautiful along the forest trails. Quiet and peaceful – just like Portugal.

  

 We passed by many workers and they would wish us a buenos dias or hola. There is new grammar to be learned in Spain.   As the temperature climbed we came across a cafe with lots of other pilgrims. We stopped for a cold drink and they brought us  some pinchos as well. This is free food in Spain and usually accompanies a drink.

We carried on and were told to watch out ahead where the roads would get confusing with a “battle of the arrows.” It seems like the Camino people had arrows bypassing an industrial area and thru a beautiful forest area. The business community did not like the diversion of their “customers” and so struck out the arrows to redirect pilgrims back towards the busier area, and on it went. We were told to stay to the left when we saw black arrows about a kilometre up the road. So that’s what we did and continued to enjoy a peaceful walk.

The day wore on and as usual for us we were walking during the hottest time. We passed thru the town of Porrino and stopped into a pasteliria and super market where we stocked up a bit and then continued on for the final stretch to Mos. Once we got there I was done – it had been a long. It was a lovely village and kind of reminded me of a small ski village. The albergue was ok and the restaurant later on was also good. We had a large and very good salad with vegetarian pasta, bread, wine and dessert for 8 euros. We certainly aren’t starving.

 

9 thoughts on “Day 20 – Valenca to Mos”

  1. Sorry I missed seeing you Maggie. By now you’re home and enjoying all the creature comforts. Take care. It will feel quite strange tomorrow with no destination in mind.

    Like

  2. Good morning Maggie!
    We are 6 kms away and heading back out. Petra and I are fast walkers so should be there between 11:00 and 11:30. I have a purple pack and Petra orange. Hopefully see you.

    Like

  3. Hi Maggie
    We are walking to Teo today so we will be closer to Santiago tomorrow. I will let you know when we leave Teo. Thanks for the accommodation into. I actually used booking.com last night and got myself 2 nights at the last stamp. A Danish girl told me about it. I will still need one more night and am hopeful they’ll be able to accommodate me. See you soon and thanks for keeping in touch.

    Like

  4. Love your story about finding coffee and a nice breakfast. Joanne and I are heading out today for another training hike. When I read your blog I get more excited about my upcoming trip to Spain. Enjoy your trip.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I loved that walk through the woods and alongside the river. I remember it really well. I am currently hanging about in Santiago waiting for my flight on Tuesday. It has turned rather dull today, but I am wishing good weather your way.
    Buen camino!

    Like

    1. Yes it seems the closer you get to Santiago the more beautiful and busy it gets. I was at a very crowded alberge last night in a top bunk and in a hot room – not my cup of tea.

      Can you suggest to me a few places I could contact in Santiago for accommodation. By all accounts it’s going to get really busy and I’m concerned about a roofnover my head.
      I would have loved to have met you but I won’t be in until around noon on the 2nd and your flight probably leaves sooner. I wish you an enjoyable next few days and a well deserved rest once you’re home. Which I’m sure will seem a little strange after camino life.

      Like

      1. I am staying in ‘the last stamp’ albergue. Small cubicles of four beds. You can reserve a bottom bunk in advance. Good facilities and wifi. Nice bed linen. 18€, +34 981 56 35 25.
        Or Hospedería San Martín Pinario, very close to cathedral, basic private room with ensuite, sheets and towel, 23€. If this is your choice reserve asap +34 981 56 02 82

        I don’t leave until after mid day so I will look out for your arrival in the square. If I don’t see you, congratulations on your achievement xx

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Hi Maggie
      I was also thinking you might want to walk to Padron tomorrow and walk into Santiago again – double whammy! Just an idea that came my way today. Certainly understand if you’ve had enough.

      Like

Leave a comment