Day 24 – Teo to Santiago

And now the day has arrived – our last day on the Camino. It dawned bright and sunny as it had done for the last 24 days. We packed up and headed out.

To me it was a significant day that signalled the end of a great adventure thru 2 countries filled with warm and friendly people, pilgrims from all over the world and experiences I will cherish forever.

We set off without breakfast and without coffee (which Petra has been learning to enjoy under my influence).  We shortly passed by a stand in the forest where a man was selling coffee/tea etc and Petra picked up a tea and he was good enough to take our picture.


Petra surprised me this morning when I was complaining about being hungry – who me! She told me to check her pack and when I did I found a supply of pigs ears from a restaurant we had visited the night before. She had gone back, after I had gone to bed, and secretly bought a bunch that we could enjoy this morning. What a girl!  They are my favorite Spanish pastry and since leaving Portugal my sweet tooth has been suffering (just a bit) in the morning.  We had one each and then gobbled the rest down over coffee later on.

It was a hilly route into Santiago but still picturesque and interesting.        We eventually arrived at the magnificent cathedral square.  It was very busy with people everywhere and only a half hour before the noon service where the pendulum swings.

I wanted to look around longer for a fellow blogger and pilgrim,  Maggie, but we were running out of time and I could not see her anyway. My only disappointment of the day.   We  found a place to stow our packs (they are not allowed in the cathedral) and then  went into the packed cathedral – standing room only, altho we did find some stairs to sit on.

The service began and I didn’t understand one word  of it. That didn’t stop me from enjoying it however, as I rested my head on my arm and surprisingly fell asleep. I hope Saint James will forgive me.  I awoke in time to see the incense burner do it’s long swing back and forth.  It is said that they originally burnt incense to counteract the stench of the pilgrims. As we hadn’t showered yet, I think it can still be said. But quite a show inside with many cameras going off and people moving to and fro for a better view.

   We then went out for Petra’s last lunch in Spain before she was to head for the bus depot to catch a bus to the airport. I tried one mouthful of octopus and that was enough for me. The squid was delicious as was another plate of pimientos.

It was only a 15 minute walk to the bus depot, where I also will be going soon enough. It was a teary farewell for me as I said goodbye to Petra.  I hope I will see her again one day.

Now the day really felt odd.  No walking tomorrow, no buddy Petra. I know I will be fine but it will take some getting used to after being so active for so long and with such good company.

I went to my new home, the albergue called ‘The Last Stamp’ and it is a clean, modern and well run place. I have a lower bunk with my own locker with combination and 2 electrical outlets with small shelves within my bunk unit.  The sheet and pillowcase are clean and folded and real cotton, not the paper I had become used to in Spain.  It doesn’t take much to impress me anymore. I have developed a new appreciation for small things.

Once settled and cleaned up I headed out onto the twisty small streets of Santiago, saying a silent prayer for guidance there and back.  I found a small restaurant near the cathedral that had wifi and enjoyed a cold beer while corresponding. My position and view could not have been any better as you can see from the photo below.


 Soon I was ordering a glass of wine, soup, and yet another plate of pimientos.  Glorious!

Tomorrow I have booked a bus tour to Finisterre where at one time was thought of as the end of the world.  A good day off my feet.  I want the following day free to see the German girls Claudia and Uli come into Santiago.

2 thoughts on “Day 24 – Teo to Santiago”

  1. Oh Sandy, what a great shame we did not coincide. I loitered on the corner of the cathedral for ages (I think some people thought I was a silent beggar!) and then looked inside a few times, but could not recognise you amongst the many. May be another year. Congratulations on completing your camino and sharing with others. Have a save homeward journey xx

    Like

    1. Yes I was disappointed not to be able to spot you too. It’s such a busy place so not that surprising. I hope that one day our paths will cross. I know I will be back next year. While travelling I heard good reports about the north route and that is at the top of my list right now, mid May 2016. I know it’s a long way off, but where would we be without our dreams. I’m glad to read you made it home and are now enjoying all the luxeries that provides. I’m still in Paris for a few more days and am feeling the pull of Canada. My favorite times were when I was walking and talking with all the incredible people that pass thru your days (and nights). I see the yellow arrows in Paris and I just want to forget what I’m doing and just follow them. It’s kind of strange the feeling that comes over me when I see them. It’s a warm and familiar feeling. I’m sure you know what I mean.
      I look forward to reading what your next adventure will be. Until then, take good care and enjoy your wonderful life in Spain.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment